Supporting Neurodivergent Students - CIRTL@CU

This is a CIRTL@CU offering. 

Want to better support your students with neurodiversity? In this workshop, we will review common forms of neurodiversity such as dyslexia, dyspraxia, autism, and ADHD and identify obstacles faced by neurodivergent students in academia. You will be introduced to strategies and resources for supporting these students, and explore ways to implement these strategies through group collaboration. By the end of this workshop, participants will be prepared to:

* Describe what neurodiversity is and its common forms and experiences.
* Recognize ways that neurodivergent students may experience difficulties with typical teaching methods.
* Explain the difference between the medical and social models of disability.
* Brainstorm new methods for creating inclusive and accessible classes for neurodivergent students.

Workshop Schedule
This one-session online workshop meets on Wednesday, September 28 at 3-5PM AT / 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT.

Registration & Enrollment
This workshop has a cap of 50 students. Registration is open from Monday, August 9 until capacity is reached or until Friday, September 23, whichever comes first. Registration will be processed on a first-come, first-served basis and registrants from CIRTL member institutions or alumni of CIRTL member institutions will receive priority. Once registration closes, all registrants will be notified of their enrollment status.

Wednesday, September 28, 2022 at 12:00pm to 2:00pm

Virtual Event
Event Type

Lecture/Presentation, Meeting/Conference, Information Session, Workshop/Training

Audience

Faculty, Students, Graduate Students, Staff, Postdoc

Cost

FREE

Group
Center for Teaching & Learning
Add to Calendar
GoogleiCalOutlook

You're not going yet!

This event requires registration.